Tags

I have been working on a new website for my church for two and a half years now. The first redesign was better than the original design that looked like a template out of FrontPage, but the CSS didn’t validate (partially because I didn’t know it was suppose to) and when I look at it now I just think it looks ugly. Then, about a year and a half ago, I started a redesign which you see on the main page and some other important pages when I realized that it needed more than just a style makeover, it needed a concept makeover.

It needed CMS so that it wasn’t so dependent on me. Thinking that I would just quickly convert it over to Drupal, Concrete5, or Joomla! I abandoned the redesign. That’s when I discovered how little I really knew about web design and programming.  It was also during a time when I was working a full-time job that was 50-60 hours a week and a part-time job that was another 12 hours.  The time I needed to learn a CMS quickly shoved the project to the back burner.

Finally Life slowed down for me a little. A year ago my Day-Job hired a fourth man to split the 24-hours-a-day-7-days-a-week time with, taking me down to a consistent 44 hours a week. Then in July, I stepped away from my part-time job.  As a result, I have a lot more time with my family and a lot more time to just breathe, which I am extremely thankful for. In November after having spent some time just enjoying the luxury of time I committed to finishing some design projects. One of which is this redesign. I decided on using WordPress for the CMS as the Pastor of the Church is already familiar with it interface. Then I found a very helpful tutorial on making custom WordPress themes over at WPDesigner and began working on those lessons while sketching out on paper what the final project would look like.

This is just a first draft Photoshop prototype of the redesign. I am not settled on it just yet and I have some work to do on the graphics. Including making some slides for the slider in the main area, as well as, the other graphic links.

