Tags

, ,

A couple of weekends Marking Gaugesago my family went on a small vacation. While away we were able to go to a handful of flea markets.  Flea markets are the weirdest blend of antiques, junk, and antique junk that you will ever find. Often flea markets are a collection of vendors, each one has there own collection of “stuff” arranged in a space that they rent. At one particular flea market we went to, the vendors were eclectic to say the least. One vendor was selling computers from the late 90’s, another had old books, a third had an indiscernible pile, there were some selling rocks, others selling Matchbox cars, chintzy tools, and finally some had antique tools mixed in.

That is were I found my newest marking gauge. A Dunlap marking gauge made in the U.S.A.  It is the shortest, and lightest colored marking gauge in the picture.

Marking Gauge Close-upI had read a lot about marking gauges in different magazine articles, but had never really been interested in them until recently. I actually acquired my first three by accident. I was bidding on a box of odds and ends at an auction that contained a 12-inch wood hand-screw clamp. Nestled in the bottom were some marking gauges, excited about the clamp I threw the marking gauges in a box and left them there.

That was until a recent project were I need to repeatedly mark the the same handful of dimensions. I decided to give the marking gauges a try and soon learned what I was missing. So when I had the chance to pick up this six inch gauge with a round cutter for just a few dollars, I jumped at it. Not only does it round out the styles of marking gauges I have, it provides me with one less setting and resetting when it comes time to layout that next project.

