Tags

, , , ,

Soaking Mustard

For Christmas, my wonder wife got me America’s Test Kitchen’s d.i.y. Cookbook. It is full of recipes and instructions on how to make staples like mustard, ketchup, and Worcestershire sauce, as well as, some things that just sound like fun like bacon, graham crackers, and root beer. As the subtitle puts it, there are a 100+ projects for the adventurous home cook. And while I may not be much of a cook, I am adventurous. So I have been eager to try something from it, though the time and adequate reason have been lacking.  But last week was my father-in-laws birthday and he likes a good hot mustard, so I thought I would try it out.

The first thing was soaking the mustard in some cider vinegar. As you can see in the picture there is more brown mustard seed than yellow, as the brown is suppose carry more heat with it. And since hot is what I was trying for, I decided to go about 70/30 with the brown to yellow, instead of the more typical 50/50.

After soaking it overnight, there are surprisingly few additional ingredients to add. Then it is into the food processor (or in my case a blender) to pulverize the soften seeds into a spreadable consistency and from there it goes into a jar to age. Giving it time to age at room temperature increases the heat of the mustard, as well as, getting rid of any bitterness.

The resulting mustard had a great flavor and quite a bit of heat, though it didn’t make you break out in a sweat. So next time I might have to try and add some Serrano peppers to the mix.

Mustard Made

